2019-2020 Academic Catalog

Air Force Reserve Officers Training Corps (AFROTC)

As a University of Dayton (UD) student you have the opportunity to become an Air Force officer through a cooperative agreement with Wright State University's (WSU) Department of Aerospace Studies. WSU is the home of Detachment 643 and the host site for local colleges and universities to provide the AFROTC program. Although you’ll register for ROTC through UD, all courses are taught at WSU. UD provides transportation. 

The AFROTC program is designed to produce Air Force officers who will be successful leaders. All officers are placed in positions of responsibility, facing challenging and rewarding career opportunities while using the most advanced technology in the world. 

The AFROTC program is organized in two portions:  the General Military Course (GMC), typically taken during first- and sophomore years, and the Professional Officer Course (POC), usually taken during junior and senior years or during the last two years prior to graduation. A corresponding Leadership Laboratory for each year, where students apply leadership skills, demonstrate command and effective communication, develop physical fitness, and practice military customs and courtesies, is also required. For more information on ROTC course descriptions, please visit https://www.wright.edu/air-force-rotc/cadet-life/rotc-classes.

• The GMC is a no-obligation introduction to the Air Force. The course covers the Foundations of the United States Air Force (USAF) and the Evolution of USAF and Space Power.

• The POC curriculum covers communicative skills, Air Force Leadership Studies, National Security Affairs and Preparation for Active Duty.

All AFROTC students have the opportunity to apply for scholarships that pay partial or full tuition, books and charges, plus a monthly stipend. These scholarships are available on a competitive basis to students who demonstrate academic and leadership potential. High school students should apply for a scholarship at https://www.afrotc.com/. In-college students will apply for scholarships through their AFROTC instructor. If you are a first-year or sophomore seeking a challenge and want to serve your country, sign up for the Aerospace Studies 121 course.

For further information about AFROTC at UD, students should contact:

The Department of Aerospace Studies
Wright State University
Dayton, Ohio 45435
Phone: 937-775-2730
Email: afrotc@wright.edu
Website: http://www.wright.edu/air-force-rotc


The University of Dayton Admission Office
Phone: 937-229-1000
E-mail: info@udayton.edu