2023-2024 Academic Catalog

Academic Calendar

The University of Dayton operates under an early semester, split third-term calendar. The academic year begins with the fifteen-week fall term, which ends before Christmas. The spring term, also fifteen weeks, begins in January and ends early in May. The third, or summer term, is split into two complete sessions of six weeks each.

Students may enroll for the traditional fall and spring semesters and have a three-month summer vacation; or they may add half terms or full terms in the summer to enrich their programs or speed the completion of their degree requirements. The University issues diplomas at the end of fall, spring and second summer terms and holds commencement ceremonies in May and December.

The University of Dayton publishes its academic calendar on an annual basis so our community can plan ahead. However, please note that the dates are subject to change.