Academic Calendar 2018-2019

The University of Dayton operates under an early semester, split third-term calendar. The academic year begins with the fifteen-week fall term, which ends before Christmas. The spring term, also fifteen weeks, begins in January and ends early in May. The third, or summer term, is split into two complete sessions of six weeks each.

Students may enroll for the traditional fall and spring semesters and have a four-month summer vacation; or they may add half terms or full terms to enrich their programs or speed the completion of their degree requirements. The University issues diplomas at the end of each term and holds ceremonies in May and December. Students who must earn their own money can have extra time for employment in spring and summer; or they may enroll for the third term and work during the fall or the spring term, when the employment market is not crowded with other college students.

Fall 2018

Date Description
Mon, Aug 6 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
Thu, Aug 16 New Faculty Orientation
Fri, Aug 17 New Graduate Assistant Orientation
Fri, Aug 17 Incoming First Year students move into UD Housing
Sat-Tue, Aug 18-21 New Student Orientation
Sun, Aug 19 Upperclass students move into UD Housing
Tue, Aug 21 New Student Convocation
Tue, Aug 21 Last day to complete registration
Wed, Aug 22 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, Aug 28 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Mon, Sep 3 Labor Day--no classes
Fri, Sep 7 Faculty Meeting-Boll Theatre
Mon, Sep 10 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades
Wed, Sep 12 Last day to drop classes without record
Fri, Sep 14 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri-Sun, Sep 21-23 Family Weekend
Wed, Oct 3 Mid-Term Break begins after last class
Mon, Oct 8 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Mon, Oct 15 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for December 2018 graduation
Wed, Oct 17 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Fri, Oct 19 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Thu, Nov 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for May 2019 graduation
Mon, Nov 12 Last day to drop classes with record of W
Fri, Nov 16 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Tue, Nov 20 Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Sat, Nov 24 Saturday classes meet
Mon, Nov 26 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Thu, Dec 6 Last day of classes
Fri, Dec 7 Feast of the Immaculate Conception/Christmas on Campus-- no classes
Sat, Dec 8 Study Day
Sun, Dec 9 Study Day
Mon-Fri, Dec 10-14 Exams--Fall Term ends after final examinations
Fri, Dec 14 University Housing closes for Christmas Break at 6:00 p.m.
Sat, Dec 15 Diploma Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, Dec 18 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Dec 20 End of term processing officially complete
Mon, Jan 21 Last day to change Fall Term grades

Christmas Break

Date Description
Sun, Dec 16 Christmas Break begins
Sun, Jan 13 Christmas Break ends

Spring 2019

Date Description
Fri, Jan 11 Last day to complete registration
Sun, Jan 13 University Housing reopens for Spring Term at 8:00 a.m.
Mon, Jan 14 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Fri, Jan 18 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Mon, Jan 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - no classes
Mon, Jan 21 Last day to change Fall Term grades
Fri, Jan 25 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri, Feb 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for May 2019 graduation
Fri, Feb 1 Last day to drop classes without record
Fri, Feb 15 Faculty/Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri, Feb 22 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri, Mar 8 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Fri, Mar 8 Spring Break begins after last class
Fri, Mar 15 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for August 2019 graduation
Mon, Mar 18 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Fri, Mar 29 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Mon, Apr 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for December 2019 graduation
Fri, Apr 5 Last day to drop classes with record of W
Wed, Apr 17 Easter Recess begins after last class
Mon, Apr 22 Easter Monday--no day classes-- classes resume at 4:30 p.m.
Wed, Apr 24 Bro. Joseph W. Stander Symposium-Alternate Day of Learning
Fri, Apr 26 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri, May 3 Last day of classes
Fri, May 3 Academic Senate Meeting (Boll Theatre)
Sat, May 4 Study Day
Sun, May 5 Study Day
Mon-Fri, May 6-10 Exams--Spring Term ends after final examinations
Fri, May 10 University Housing closes for Spring Term at 6:00 p.m.
Sat, May 11 Doctoral/Graduate Commencement Exercises at 12:45 p.m.
Sun, May 12 Undergraduate Commencement Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, May 14 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, May 16 End of term processing officially complete
Mon, Jun 17 Last day to change Spring Term grades

Summer 2019-- First Session

Date Description
Fri, May 17 Last day to complete registration
Sat, May 18 Saturday classes begin
Mon, May 20 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, May 21 Last day for late Summer Term- First Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Thu, May 23 Last day for late full Summer Term registration, change of grading options and schedules
Mon, May 27 Memorial Day--no classes
Wed, May 29 Last day to drop without record from First Session classes
Mon, Jun 10 Last day to drop without record from full Summer Term classes
Mon, Jun 17 Last day to drop with record of W from First Session classes
Mon, Jun 17 Last day to change Spring Term grades
Fri-Sat, Jun 28-29 Exams--full Summer Term classes do not meet First Session ends after final examinations
Mon, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2019 graduation
Tue, Jul 2 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Fri, Jul 5 End of term processing officially complete
Thu, Aug 1 Last day to change First Session grades

Summer 2019--Second Session

Date Description
Fri, Jun 28 Last day to complete registration
Sat, Jun 29 Saturday classes begin
Mon, Jul 1 Second Session classes begin
Mon, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2019 graduation
Tue, Jul 2 Last day for late Summer Term-Second Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Thu, Jul 4 Independence Day--no classes
Fri, Jul 12 Last day to drop without record from Second Session classes Term classes
Mon, Jul 22 Last day to drop with record of W from Second Session and full Summer Term classes
Thu, Aug 1 Last day to change First Session grades
Fri-Sat, August 9-10 Exams--Second Session and full Summer Term end after final examinations
Mon, Aug 12 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
Tue, Aug 13 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Aug 15 End of term processing officially complete
Mon, Sep 16 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades